Reproduced from ASEAN Economic Bulletin Vol. 5, No. 1 (July 1988) (Singapore: Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, 1988). This version was obtained electronically direct from the publisher on condition that copyright is not infringed. No part of this publication may be reproduced without the prior permission of the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies. Individual articles are available at < http://bookshop.iseas.edu.sg >

# ASEAN ECONOMIC BULLETIN

VOLUME 5 NUMBER 1	Articles Dynamic Comparative Advantage and the Search for a Coherent Industrial Policy in ASEAN H. EDWARD ENGLISH 1
	Marketing in the Automotive Industry of Indonesia: Problems, Possibilities, and Limits T. PAWITRA 21
JULY 1988	Trends in Burma-ASEAN Trade Relations MYA THAN <b>45</b>
	The ASEAN Finance Corporation DAVID L. SCHULZE 71
	Designing the Future of ASEAN Electricity Trade SERAFIN D. TALISAYON 81
	Documentation Abstracts from the EC-Joint Declaration, 7th EC-ASEAN Ministerial Meeting Düsseldorf, 2–3 May 1988 92
LSEAS	Book Reviews International Industry and Business: Structural Change, Industrial Policy and Industry Strategies by Robert H. Ballance 97

ASEAN at the Crossroads: Obstacles, Options and Opportunities in Economic Cooperation edited by Noordin Sopiee, Chew Lay See, Lim Siang Jin 99 Trade and Structural Change in Pacific Asia edited by Colin I. Bradford and William H. Branson 101 Developing Countries in the GATT Legal System

by Robert E. Hudec 102

ASEAN Chronology 1988

105

Conferences, Workshops, and Seminars 108

Some Recent Publications 111

## ASEAN ECONOMIC BULLETIN

### **REGIONAL ADVISORY BOARD**

Datin Hajjah Jusnani Haji Lawie Economic Planning Unit, Ministry of Finance Brunei Darussalam

Mohamed Ariff University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur

Chia Siow Yue National University of Singapore Suhadi Mangkusuwondo Department of Trade and Co-operatives Jakarta

Florian Alburo University of the Philippines

Narongchai Akrasanee The Industrial Management Co. Ltd., Bangkok

#### INTERNATIONAL CORRESPONDING MEMBERS

Harry Edward English Carleton University Ottawa, Canada

Ross Garnaut Australian National University

Ryokichi Hirono Seikei University Japan

Frank Holmes Victoria University of Wellington, N.Z.

Hugh Patrick Columbia University USA

Jean Waelbroeck Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

### **EDITORIAL COMMITTEE**

*Chairman* Kernial Singh Sandhu

Kenneth James

*Editors* Shankar Sharma

Tan Loong-Hoe

Associate Editor Triena Ong

Committee MembersFlorian AlburoChee Peng LimMubyartoPaitoon WiboonchutikulaJohn Wong