Reproduced from Creating "Greater Malaysia": Decolonization and the Politics of Merger by Tan Tai Yong (Singapore: Institute of Southeast Asian Studies, 2008). This version was obtained electronically direct from the publisher on condition that copyright is not infringed. No part of this publication may be reproduced without the prior permission of the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies.

Individual articles are available at < http://bookshop.iseas.edu.sg >

Dramatis Personae

Abdul Rahman, Tunku United Malays National Organisation

(UMNO) leader; first Prime Minister of the Federation of Malaya, and later of the

Federation of Malaysia

Abdul Razak bin Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Defence

and Minister for Rural Development,

1959-69. Malaysia's second Prime Minister,

1970-76.

Anthony Abell Governor of Sarawak, 1950–59.

Hussain, Tun

Azahari, A.M. Founder and leader of the Partai Rakyat

Brunei, who led the 1962 Brunei Revolt.

Bourdillon, H.T. Deputy UK Commissioner in Singapore,

1959-61.

Chew Swee Kee Minister for education in the Lim Yew Hock

government who resigned because of

corruption.

Cobbold, Lord Governor of Bank of England, 1949–61;

Chairman of the Commission of Enquiry into

North Borneo and Sarawak, 1962.

Critchley, T.K. Australian High Commissioner in Singapore.

Datu Bandar Abang Haji Mustapha	Leader of Party Negara Sarawak.
Goh Keng Swee	Economics tutor; civil servant; PAP assemblyman; Singapore's first Finance Minister and first Defence Minister.
Goode, Willam A.C.	Last British Governor of Singapore; later its first Yang Di-Pertuan Negara; Governor, North Borneo, 1960–63.
Ismail bin Dato Abdul Rahman, Dr	Malayan Minister for External Affairs; Internal Security Council member; later Malaysian Minister for Home Affairs.
Lansdowne, Marquess of	British Minister of State for Colonial Affairs.
Lee Siew Choh, Dr	PAP assemblyman; founding member and leader of the Barisan Sosialis.
Lennox-Boyd, Alan	British secretary of state for the colonies, 1954–59.
Lim Chin Siong	Militant left-wing trade unionist; charismatic political campaigner; political detainee.
Lim Swee Aun	Malaya's Minister for Commerce and Industry.
Lim Yew Hock, Tun	Second Chief Minister of Singapore, 1957–59.
MacDonald, Malcolm	British High Commissioner of Southeast Asia/Governor General of Southeast Asia.
Macmillan, Harold	British Prime Minister, 1957–63.

Marshall, David First Chief Minister of Singapore; founder of

the Workers' Party.

Maudling, Reginald British Secretary of State for the colonies,

1961-62.

Moore, Philip British Deputy High Commissioner in

Singapore, 1961-63.

Mountbatten, Lord Louis World War II British Commander-in-Chief of

Southeast Asia Command.

Ong Eng Guan The only mayor of Singapore; assemblyman

for Hong Lim; cabinet minister; opposition member and founder of United People's Party.

Ong Kee Hui Founding Chairman of Sarawak United

People's Party.

Othman Wok PAP assemblyman; cabinet minister.

Reuff, Jacques French economist.

Samad bin Ismail Journalist; political detainee; founding

member of the PAP; self-confessed

communist.

Sandys, Duncan Secretary of State for the colonies, 1962–64.

Scott, Robert Commissioner-General in Southeast Asia.

Selkirk, Lord UK Commissioner-General for Southeast

Asia 1955–63; UK Commissioner, Singapore,

1959-63.

Shafie, Ghazali bin Permanent Secretary, Ministry of External

Affairs, Malaysia.

Stephens, Donald Leader of the Sabah political party United

Pasok Momogun Kadazan Organisation.

S. Rajaratnam Journalist; founding member of the PAP;

Minister for Culture.

Sukarno President of Indonesia who declared a policy

of confrontation when Malaysia was formed.

Tan C.C. Lawyer; Progressive Party leader.

Tan Siew Sin President of MCA; Malaysian Finance

Minister.

Toh Chin Chye Founding member of the PAP and cabinet

minister.

Tory, Geofroy UK High Commissioner to Malaya, 1957–63.

Turnbull, Roland Governor of North Borneo, 1954–60.

U-Thant United Nation's Secretary-General.

Waddell, Alexander Governor of Sarawak, 1960–63.

White, Dennis British High Commissioner to Brunei,

1959-63.

Wong Pow Nee Member of the Cobbold Commission; Chief

Minister of Penang, 1957-69.

Yong, Stephen Leader of Sarawak United People's Party.